Blog Prompts

Struggling To Be Better

Procrastination, laziness, addicted to my own comfort zone, resist learning deeply, waste a lot of time, those are my current substance dependence which I am struggling to quit. Years after years, I have failed to solve those problems many times even they are always on the top of new year resolution list.

“One’s character is set at an early age. The choices you make now will affect you for the rest of your life. I hate to see you swim out so far you can’t swim back.”

The quote comes from the movie Flipped, and I am with it. Really think about it, my youth is just the same with my present status. I was smart then and didn’t recognize and appreciate hard working which could make someone much better. Now I am full of regrets, tasting the bitter I’ve made for myself. They all say a leopard can’t change its spots, but I know I have to try, really hard, otherwise definitely will end up nothing.

I’ve read a lot of reading stuff about this topic, cold turkey works extremely noneffective, gradual change is the wise solution I can go with. Since it’s new year again, and this writing prompt is just popped, so I decide to give me another shot. One problem at a time, baby steps, non-zero everyday.

Some useful sources for self

How to Beat Procrastination with Daily Training

The Lazy Manifesto: Do Less. Then, Do Even Less.

What I’ve Learned About Learning

Leave a Reply

